HOUSE UPDATE

I have been super busy and I got a new phone- so haven’t been able to post. During the this time, I started working on replacing the kitchen floor and laundry room floor. It renews a my faith that this house will be an AWESOME mansion again gone day!

As a lot of times it still feels so torn up and overwhelming. Each time I get a change and the energy to work on a house project it renew that faith and make me feels a lot better.

KITCHEN BEFORE– old, torn up and depressingly UGLY:

10599559_10204801584829857_2345781543225645802_n10665065_10204801587869933_6174551581982301934_n

And $50 (and a few hrs of labor) later:

10622768_10204801591950035_966681105667349045_n10629570_10204801595830132_965865274707482898_n

And that is my, Drama King from birth, 13 1/2yr old Christopher. 😉  The whole floor will cost about $75.

& I did not take a before of the LAUNDRY ROOM because it just just nasty- you can find photos of how it looked way back in my posts from when I bought the house. Before we moved in I spent DAYS scraping up several layers of horribly nasty peel & stick tiles, down to an old nasty, stained up linoleum floor which I left til now. No matter how much I cleaned it, the stains were saturated through (in both rooms) and it still looks nasty dirty. I have been embarrassed to let people come over etc because of it.

This photo shows just 1/2 of the laundry room finished- 44sq ft shown. The entire room will cost about $40 for the approx 130 sq ft space. This rooms WAS “apt 2” kitchen & may be listed as such in old posts. I now refer to it as “the laundry room” because is the end goal for this 2nd floor room. I still need Plumbing and electric repaired/ and installed for my washer and dryer, which will cost about $300 (lowest quote to date). To us, that is just way too much to come up with all at once and I have been working on it over the last year.

10538454_10204765351844055_6197917966184427042_n

Both floors total at least 312 sq ft and it was a total of about $126, as the tiles were on sale at Menards. It is not anything fancy BUT make a HUGE difference in the feel of the rooms.

HISTORY FACTS for those New to My blog:

I bought our house off the foreclosure list last year. It has sat on the list for so long that that city had already pulled the utilities from the home. It is a huge undertaking BUT it is in a good neighborhood and keeps a roof over our heads. At the time, I had a little money stashed but monthly our income was so little that we couldn’t even afford a 1 bedroom apt. So I took this giant leap of faith, took the little money I had saved, and invested in a house instead of just a couple more months of renting, to which, we would have ran out of money and hit an end.

This historic home is 3 stories, has over 2 dozen rooms (I always lose count!), including 7 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, etc. It also has a full basement.  It was turned into a 4 family apt building so I am not sure the original layout.  The foundation and roof on the MAIN house are good, but the rest needs a lot of work… A LOT. Once the house is rehabbed, it will be worth at least 10X the purchase value, per the city. It may end up costing me MORE than the value to fix it by the end, BUT keep in mind we are also living here and elsewhere would be just dumping 3X as money (that I don’t have) away on a rental anyway. At least here it costs us less monthly and will belong to us when finished.

We need a lot of plumbing, electric, roofing, windows, etc done still and I am just waiting patiently in faith for the finances and help. I have tried a Go Fund Me accnt (link on top bar), etc but nothing has panned out. We have also checked all the government funded programs and we do not qualify for any of those either.

EDITED TO ADD LINK TO ORIGINAL LAUNDRY ROOM PHOTOS:

https://bumblebeebottomsboutique.wordpress.com/beforeafter-property-pics/unit-2-kitchen/

Leave a Reply

